Robert Piaskowski

Krakow Film Music Festival Artistic Director

Robert  Piaskowski

Robert Piaskowski, cultural manager and animator, educator, musician. He gained his professional experience in various cultural sectors, initially as an NGO activist. Associated with the Krakow 2000 office, which was transformed into the Krakow Festival Office. Currently the Plenipotentiary for Culture of the Mayor of the City of Krakow.

He was responsible for the most important international festivals in Krakow, including Misteria Paschalia, Opera Rara (early music), Sacrum Profanum (contemporary music), Wianki – Celebration of Music, New Year's Eve in Krakow (popular music), ICE Classic series (classical music), Conrad Festival and Miłosz Festival (literature). He was also responsible for the film policy of Krakow, supervising the activities of the Krakow Film Commission and the implementation of the Krakow Film Programme.

He is the artistic director and co-founder of the FMF – Krakow Film Music Festival.

It is one of the most important film music festivals in the world, organised by the Krakow Festival Office and RMF Classic radio. The uniqueness of the event is determined by the unique combination of the highest quality film music interpretation performed by leading musicians and orchestras combined with high quality motion picture. Monumental music and film shows are distinguished by bold production, innovation in the field of sound and image technology, but also by the scope of the performance and the high artistic level of the presented works. The festival is also distinguished by the annual attendance of the most outstanding artists and composers.

The FMF is an important industry meeting, and at the same time a place of world and Polish premieres of many works of film music, often in the presence of world-class directors and composers. The festival has featured Oscar winners, among others: Elliot Goldenthal, Tan Dun, Howard Shore, Jan AP Kaczmarek, Alexandre Desplat, Dario Marianelli, outstanding composers Joe Hisaishi, Shigeru Umebayashi, Don Davis, Ramin Djawadi, Jeff Beal, Alberto Iglesias, Trevor Morris, Krzysztof Penderecki, Wojciech Kilar, Reinhold Heil, Jonny Klimek, Abel Korzeniowski, Eric Serra, Diego Navarro, directors Tom Tykwer, Julie Taymor, Tomas Alfredson. The Festival is famous mainly for its film live in concert simultaneous productions, presenting great film productions with music performed live by great orchestras, as well as for the exclusive film music gala gathering the greatest personalities of the world of the big screen.

The Festival has become a natural place of collaboration for representatives of the broadly understood film industry. The festival hosts the so-called Audiovisual Forum – a professional educational platform for young composers who intend to build their careers on the international film services market. The Festival organizes an international competition for young composers competing for the Young Talent Award and the right to perform the winning suite during the prestigious final gala. The festival also awards the prestigious Kilar Award established in honour of Wojciech Kilar (its winners were Elliot Goldenthal, Alexandre Desplat, Howard Shore, Michael Nyman, Craig Armstrong), as well as the Polish Soundtrack of the Year Award and the FMF Ambassador title. The ranks of the FMF Ambassadors include, among others, the Artistic Director of FIMUCITÉ, Diego Navarro.